Monday, August 10, 2015

Top 10 Strictest & Most Lenient States on Speeding and Reckless Driving

Speed kills. We have all been told that since driver’s education class, and yet American drivers routinely exceed the speed limit. To find out which states take the hardest line on dangerous driving behavior, the leading personal finance website WalletHub conducted an in-depth analysis of 2015's Strictest and Most Lenient States on Speeding and Reckless Driving.

They analyzed penalties for speeding and reckless driving in each of the 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia across 12 key metrics. Their data set ranges from what speeds are automatically considered reckless driving to how many speeding tickets it takes to earn an automatic license suspension.

Strictest States on Speeding and Reckless Driving  


  • 1 Colorado
  • T-2 Arizona
  • T-2 Delaware
  • T-2 Illinois
  • 5 New Mexico
  • 6 Virginia
  • T-7 Iowa
  • T-7 Massachusetts
  • 9 Alabama
  • 10 District Of Columbia


Most Lenient States on Speeding and Reckless Driving

  • T-40 Kentucky
  • T-40 Montana
  • T-40 Nebraska
  • T-40 New Jersey
  • T-40 Ohio
  • T-40 South Carolina
  • 46 New Hampshire
  • T-47 Mississippi
  • T-47 Pennsylvania
  • T-47 South Dakota
  • T-47 Utah
  • 51 Texas


The average maximum cost of a ticket for reckless driving is $742, with the lowest being $100 (in Kentucky, Mississippi and New Mexico) and the highest at approximately $5,000 (Washington).

Twenty-nine percent of states use speed cameras to automatically catch and fine violators.

None of the states has a mandatory jail time for speeding. However, reckless drivers should expect, on average, to spend at least one day in jail for their first offense and four days for their second offense.

For the full report and to see where your state ranks, please visit: http://wallethub.com/edu/strictest-and-most-lenient-states-on-speeding/14211/

No comments:

Post a Comment